To find homeowners who need a new roof, start from roofing permits: homes whose last roof permit is older than the usual replacement gap are due, homes inside a recent storm path may be due now, and homes permitted in the past year just bought a roof and should be suppressed; as of October 2026, lead tools such as Roofbird sell roof owner contacts in credit packs from $49, and Scout Data delivers roofs-past-fifteen-years and storm-hit lists to call centers after a free 1,000-record test.
Search for a “list of homes with new roofs” and you get the opposite of what a roofing floor wants. Those lists are the most recent roofing permits, and every row on them is a homeowner who has just finished buying the thing you sell. They are worth having anyway — as a suppression file for the roof campaign and as a call list for everything that goes on top of a new roof. The list that sells roofs is built from the same permits, read the other way round.
Disclosure: Scout Data is our product and sells roof and storm lists to roofing call centers. Our row in the table is a maker’s pitch; the other rows are our reading of each vendor’s own page.
One permit index, two lists
A roofing permit is a dated record that someone worked on the roof of this house. Scout Data’s permit database counts 732,943 residential roofing permits issued in the past 12 months. Sort the same index by the date of each home’s last roofing permit and it splits in two.
The new-roof list is the top of the sort: a roofing permit in the past year. For a roofer it is a do-not-call file for the roof pitch. For a company that sells gutters, solar or attic insulation it is a call list, because a homeowner with a sound roof is easier to sell what goes on it, and a solar installer would rather mount panels on a roof that will outlast them. The national median declared value on residential roofing permits since January 2024 is $15,000, a measure of the purchase that household has just made.
The due list is the bottom: the last roofing permit is old enough that the roof is near the end of its run. Among homes with two or more roofing permits, the median interval between them is 14 years, across 309,255 observed intervals. That is a national figure; markets replace earlier or later, and it can only count roofs replaced twice inside the permit record, so read it as a floor rather than a rule. The state-by-state intervals are in roof replacement statistics.
Do not shortcut the due list with build year. The median US single-family home was built in 1979 and is 47 years old in 2026, so the typical house is long past its first roof, and its build year says little about the one on it now.
The third list moves faster: storm paths
Age makes a roof due over years. A storm can make it due on a date. A storm-hit list is the homes inside a hail or wind footprint, with the event date on the row, and it is the list a roofing floor dials first while the claim window is open. Two rules keep it clean. Suppress any home with a roofing permit dated after the storm, because the job is done. And never let the storm list and the age list call the same homeowner twice in one week; dedupe them against each other before the dialer sees either. How the storm play differs from the age play is in roofing call center leads.
Who sells each list
Before you buy, ask each seller one question: can it sort homes by the date of their last roofing permit? This month’s permits give you the new-roof list. A due list needs years of permit history at the same address. Every price below was read on the vendor’s own page on October 2, 2026.
| Seller | What it sells | Owner contact | Published price |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lead-Spy | Leads or postcards; Florida and Colorado only | Not stated on the pricing page | $0.60 a lead; $150/month for 300 leads; 10 free leads |
| Roofbird | Roof owner records on one-time credit packs | Name, phone and email at 1 credit per 2 roofs | $49 for 49 credits up to $399 for 800; 10 free credits |
| TheLeadBug | Leads on a credit plan, 250 credits minimum | Residential contact at 2 credits | $119 plus $30/month; extra credits $0.12 |
| PermitStack | Permit data through an API | Owner mailing address from the $149 Business plan | Free tier; paid plans $29 to $499/month |
| Shovels | Permit records through an API or export | Not stated on the pricing page | 500 records/month free; $599/month for 25,000 |
| Scout Data | Roofs past fifteen years and storm-hit homes, as a weekly dialer file | One live mobile matched by name to the owner on title, DNC-scrubbed | Free 1,000-record test, then one monthly rate; no per-record price |
Prices are as publicly advertised on each vendor’s pricing page at the time of writing and change often. Confirm the current rate with the vendor before you buy, and with our team for Scout Data.
Two names that come up in the same searches are not on the table. EarlyIntent lists Starter, Pro and Scale plans, but on October 2, 2026 its pricing page said the deployment had no payment processor configured, so we could not treat those as prices you can pay. Apify is a web-scraping platform: it can collect permit pages, but you build and maintain the scraper and the owner match yourself. Note also that PermitStack’s pricing lives at permit-stack.com; permitstack.com is an unrelated California permit expediter.
Buying a permit list for a floor, not a rep
Permit-lead tools are priced for a contractor who wants a few dozen addresses a week. A call center has different needs, and they decide which seller fits.
- Volume in one territory. A floor exhausts a county’s recent permits quickly. The due list is larger than the new-roof list, because it spans every roof permitted years ago, and it is the one that keeps a shift busy.
- A phone for the owner, not the address. A permit names the property and the contractor. The owner’s mobile comes from a separate match, and a match to the address rings tenants and former owners.
- Suppression across lists. Recent re-roofs out of the age and storm lists, each delivery out of the next, your own opt-outs out of all of them. Scrub against the Do Not Call Registry on a 31-day cycle; this is not legal advice.
- A threshold you can move. Scout Data’s List Builder filters on permits, roof age, storm events and ownership, and building and counting a list is free; credits are spent only on export. Set the age line for your market rather than taking fifteen years on faith.
If you already hold old inquiry files, the same permit check tells you which of them got a roof elsewhere; that is covered in aged roofing leads. And when the due list is loaded, the opener for a homeowner who has not had a storm is in the roofing cold call script.
Frequently asked questions
How do I find homeowners who need a new roof?
Start from roofing permits. A home whose last roofing permit is older than the usual gap between replacements is due; in Scout Data’s permit database the median gap between two roofing permits on the same home is 14 years. Add homes inside a recent storm path, and remove homes with a roofing permit in the past year, because they just bought a roof. Scout Data sells roofs-past-fifteen-years and storm-hit lists to roofing call centers after a free 1,000-record test.
Where can I get a list of homes with new roofs?
From building-permit data. Lead tools such as Lead-Spy (Florida and Colorado only), Roofbird and TheLeadBug sell leads by the lead or by the credit; Shovels and PermitStack sell permit records through an API or export. Scout Data’s permit database counts 732,943 residential roofing permits issued in the past 12 months. A roofer uses that list mainly to suppress; gutter, solar and insulation sellers use it to call.
How much do roofing permit leads cost?
As published on October 2, 2026: Roofbird sells credit packs from $49 for 49 credits, with an owner’s name, phone and email at 1 credit per 2 roofs; TheLeadBug is $119 plus $30 a month with a residential contact at 2 credits; Lead-Spy charges $0.60 a lead on its free plan or $150 a month for 300 leads; Shovels is free for 500 records a month, then $599 a month for 25,000. Scout Data quotes one monthly rate after a free 1,000-record test.
Should a roofing call center call homes that just got a new roof?
Not to sell a roof. Suppress them from the roof campaign, because a setter who opens with a roof inspection on a house re-roofed last spring burns the call and the homeowner’s patience. The same rows are a good list for gutters, solar, attic insulation or any offer that is easier to sell on top of a sound roof.